Cofer attends JSI program

Kobey Cofer, a 2018 graduate of Walker-Hackensack-Akeley School and a student at Hamline University, was one of nearly two dozen college students from around the country who were at the Humphrey School of Public Affairs to explore their budding interests in public policy through the Junior Summer Institute (JSI) program, designed to prepare them for graduate school and careers in public service.

The 22 students come from Minnesota and nine other states, including New York, California, Florida, Texas, Virginia, and Maryland. Some are immigrants from Africa and Latin America, while others are the first generation in their families to attend college. What they all share is a desire to work in public service and a commitment to advancing the common good.

This is the third year the Humphrey School hosting the JSI, an intensive seven-week training experience designed to prepare rising seniors — mostly from underrepresented communities — to thrive in master’s degree programs and launch careers in public service.

The JSI fellows were immersed in coursework on policy analysis, statistics, economic policy, and other subjects that solidify their readiness for graduate school. They’ll also visit community organizations and landmarks including the Minnesota State Capitol, the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, Impact Hub innovation network, and others.

The University of Minnesota is one of five universities across the country to host a JSI, which is fully funded and often leads to generous financial aid packages at participating schools.

MSU Moorhead scholarships

Sara McGregor of Akeley received a $750 Jean Bartlett Memorial scholarship and a $1,000 Sara Nelson Memorial scholarship at Minnesota State University Moorhead. McGregor intends work toward a paralegal major.

Concordia College dean’s list

Concordia College, Moorhead, has announced that Hailey Bruns of Walker was named to the second semester 2019 dean’s list with a 3.7 or higher GPA. She is the daughter of Brian and Nancy Bruns, Walker.

Itasca CC spring dean’s list

Kyle Binderup, Laporte, was named to the spring dean’s list with high honors (3.25-3.499 GPA) at Itasca Community College, Grand Rapids.

Rice awarded Bank/Insure

Forward scholarship

Bank Forward President Tom Watson and CEO/Insure Forward President Mark Brown announce that Jensen Rice is the recipient of an educational scholarship awarded to a student in participating Bank/Insure/Invest/Tax Forward markets.

Rice recently graduated from Walker-Hackensack-Akeley High School and plans on studying civil engineering at the University of Minnesota Duluth.

Bank/Insure Forward’s scholarship program is based upon individual student grades, participation in extracurricular activities and community involvement.

UW-Eau Claire dean’s list

Micah Link of Longville was named to the spring semester Dean’s List at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire.

Minn. State CTC spring grads

Minnesota State Community and Technical Colleges, with campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena, announce the following students are among those who graduated this spring:

Backus— Linda Goble, massage therapy; Jordan Orth, heating, ventilation, air conditioning, refrigeration.

Longville — Alexis Kalli, liberal arts and sciences

Pine River — Tanner Aleckson, electrical line worker technology; Logan Kangas, electrical line worker technology; Brooke Swenson, cosmetology.


Recommended for you

Load comments